FEMS Awards


This is award is offered from FEMS to recognize outstanding service to microbiology in Europe.The Lwoff Award ceremony and presentation will take place during the Opening Ceremony on Sunday, July 7. 

The Lwoff Award will be presented by Dr.Bauke Oudega, FEMS President. 

Lwoff award lecture by Prof.Pascale Cossart entitled: “The bacterial pathogen Listeria monocytogenes: a multifaceted model”  

FEMS-ASM Mäkelä-Cassell Award  

The FEMS-ASM Mäkelä-Cassell Award supports the reciprocal exchange of one member from each organization to present his/her research at the other organization’s main conference.It has been designed to benefit early career scientists from both organizations by giving them the opportunity to present their work overseas and experience the best of microbiology in the partner country. 

The FEMS-ASM Mäkelä-Cassell Award will be awarded to Valerie de Anda, Postdoctoral Researcher at the University of Texas at Austin, during the Workshop Extreme environments, 08 July 2019 14:30 – 17:00 in the Clyde Auditorium. 


The FEMS-Jensen Award was established to support Early Career Scientists and microbiologists in particular. It is named after the Danish soil microbiologist Dr Hans Laurits Jensen (1898-1977). The award is intended to recognize academic achievement and superior research accomplishments showing significant potential to develop an outstanding research career.  

The award comprises a fellowship for spending at least half a year in an outstanding research laboratory chosen by the student. The maximum award amounts to EUR 10,000. 

FEMS Poster Prizes

FEMS Journals Poster Prizes  

The FEMS Journals Editorial Boards will review and select posters daily for the Best Poster Prizes.Winners will be announced during the Closing Ceremony on Thursday, July 11. 

At the registration desk, poster presenters can get a sticker to place on their poster to indicate that they run for the poster prize and will be present during the Closing Ceremony to receive the prize. 

FEMS Grantee Early Career Poster Prize  

There will be an award for the best presented paper of FEMS Early Career Scientists that received a FEMS Congress Attendance Grant. The award will be presented by Prof Jozef Anné, FEMS Grant Director.

The winner will be announced during the Closing Ceremony on Thursday 11 July.

SfAM Awards


SfAM WH Pierce Prize

SfAM awards this prestigious prize to an outstanding scientist who has made a substantial contribution to the science of applied microbiology.

The award was instituted in 1984 by the directors of Oxoid to commemorate the life and works of the late WH (Bill) Pierce, former Chief Bacteriologist of Oxo Ltd and a long-time member of the Society. 

SfAM Poster Prizes

SfAM awards prizes for the best posters presented by early career scientists. 

SfAM Poster Lightening Talk Prize

SfAM awards a prize for the best poster lightening talk. 

SfAM Early Career Scientist Presentation

SfAM awards a prize for the best Early Career Scientist presentation.